[First published on skepolitical.com on 6/1/12]

As Marc described yesterday, my post last week about my embarrassment at having bought into Obama attracted the attention of a reporter doing a story on disillusionment among Obama’s 2008 supporters. She’s not sure when the story will be published, but it could be as soon as next week. When it is published, you can rest assured that we will announce its publication and link to it from this blog, whether or not we are featured in the article. You probably noticed that we have not revealed the reporter’s name. At the end of my interview, I asked her how it would affect her if I blogged or tweeted about the interview, and she respectfully requested that I refer to her only as “a reporter.”

Needless to say, this is an exciting development for me. For quite a while, I’ve been trying to find a way to find a voice, assert my values, and make a difference. Posting in this blog seemed like a nice outlet until I found a way to make a more substantial difference, but I did not really expect it to attract much attention. This interview is a welcome surprise. Moreover, it’s encouraging to know that the mainstream media is now developing this narrative of a growing coalition of angry and disillusioned former Obama voters. It’s the sort of narrative that has the potential to dispel the self-fulfilling notion that Third Party candidates are hopeless. If this allows Third Parties to get enough of the vote, perhaps they will stop being viewed only as spoilers and more as genuine ideological alternatives to the two corporate-chosen parties that are traditionally put before the electorate for our rubber-stamping.

I participated in this interview despite my belief that the domination of the media by corporate entities is a major problem. I think the profit motive tends to direct their reporting choices, and, inevitably, their corporate identity tends to make them more sympathetic to corporate interests. In recent years I’ve shifted my news-consumption to sources that are independent and non-profit. Still, the quality of corporate media sources vary widely, and there is lots of great work being done by many of the reporters in the corporate media. I think this is likely to be one of those instances. In any case, I was treated with respect and my opinions are now more likely to gain a wider audience. I think that easily makes it worth any tiny exacerbation I may have introduced to the problem of the media’s domination by corporate entities. Good reporting is still good reporting, and I’m very pleased this story is being covered, whatever the medium.

Although I didn’t say everything I had hoped during the interview, I was given ample time (half an hour), and we touched on several subjects I didn’t anticipate. She asked a little about me and my history, she asked why I was upset with Obama, and she asked what I plan to do going forward. I think my anger and frustration came across appropriately. She also asked a bit about the skeptic movement and Dan Carlin. I am writing up my account of the interview in more detail, but I haven’t decided yet if I should post that before or after her story comes out.

The reporter also asked me to recommend other people to interview. If you’ve been deeply disillusioned by Obama and you’d like me to send your name along to her, contact me by commenting, emailing, or tweeting. (190)

